The Economy of Behavior


Energy and freedom are two motivating factors we can make mention of when helping the client to look at current behaviors.  Certain behaviors can be considered as hot commodities.  One of them being a physical action which proceeds with very few words attached to it. 

When I tell a child to stop doing a certain action with his possession of an object or toy, it is more effective to take the toy and point to a seat.  No matter how much he/ she protests, I stick to my directive of restricting his freedom to sitting in my prescribed location.  The immediate consequence is his/ her restriction to a spot I pick and loss of the object or toy.  For me to stand there and argue or try to calm protests is to spend my energy when it is not necessary.  My action of swift physical action and few words attached is saving me energy and I have control in the transaction of freedom for the child. 

2 responses to “The Economy of Behavior

Leave a Reply

